Can Art heal the world?

caravan poster cropped

I am a realist. I highly doubt that Art can heal the world.

But I am also a citizen of the world and an artist. If I don’t try to make a difference in the only way I know how, then I may as well raise my arms in defeat. Despite the constant barrage of tragic news coming from all corners of the globe, I still cling to the hope and belief in the common thread of humanity that connects us all. That’s why I am delighted to be participating in AMEN – A Prayer for the World, an interfaith, intercultural exhibition organized by the CARAVAN NGO, bringing together Egyptian and Western artists of all faiths and creeds.

Invitation to Exhibition --CARAVAN

AMEN: A Prayer for the World is opening to the public tomorrow at the National Cathedral in Washington, DC and then moving onto the Cathedral of Saint John the Divine in NYC in October. The 48 artists were provided with a life sized fiberglass form of a figure in prayer to do with as we saw fit. I transformed my figure into a receptacle for accepting digital prayers to send to the Cloud. Prayer, after all, is a universal dialogue and I wanted to provide the viewer with a chance to send his or her prayer out to the world. It certainly can’t hurt.

MILGROM front view

MILGROM detail II

MILGROM back view

I URGE YOU TO TAKE 10 SECONDS TO SCAN THE QR CODE OR GO TO VIRTUALANGEL.WEEBLY.COM TO PARTICIPATE IN MY INTERACTIVE INSTALLATION. And if you can come to DC or NY to see this meaningful exhibition, you will be fascinated by the different ways in which artists interpret prayer. 

Angel QR for printing

I will be present at the National Cathedral in Washington DC on SEPTEMBER 20, 2014 BETWEEN 1-3 PM. I hope to see you there. Have a Blessed Day!

3 thoughts on “Can Art heal the world?

  1. Laurie Gardner August 30, 2014 / 12:25 pm

    Lilianne, Beautifully done!! So proud of you and excited for you! John and I send our love and blessings!

    • liliannemilgrom August 30, 2014 / 2:27 pm

      Thank you Laurie! Will let you know if there is an official opening date in NY. xx

      • Ronnie Cohen August 31, 2014 / 10:55 am

        I too would love to hear the particulars about the NYC display at St. John the Divine. Please email them to me if possible –

I'd love to hear your comments!!

