About as good as it gets

Entrance to artist's paradise: VCCA.
Entrance to artist’s paradise: VCCA.

I have only been a fellow at the VCCA artist colony for four days, but it has been equivalent to 4 weeks in terms of the work that one is able to accomplish here. Having such places like VCCA dedicated to the creative arts is truly the mark of civilized societies. Luck of the draw had me installed in the largest, brightest, most coveted studio. It was overwhelming at first to see my three little boxes of art paraphernalia and a half dozen canvases taking up so little space in the huge studio.

studioI am working on a few different ideas but will share my first piece inspired by my surroundings. The studio faces a wall of green – a riotous nature party. Bushes, grasses, climbing vines, trees, scrub, you name it. I almost immediately felt the encroachment of the green living flora into my space. In a good way: My normal news junkie mode receded and I was able to experience being in the moment. So here’s a look at the piece I completed on my first day:

encroachment

I am soaking up the atmosphere, the uninterrupted time and the company of talented artists, brilliant authors and poets and composers from all over the world. In short, I am in seventh Heaven.

PS. NEWS FLASH!!! Just found out my work has been included in a group exhibition of Israeli artists working under the confines of the current hostilities. It is called The Iron Dome &Tear.

Iron dome exhibitionAlthough I am not currently in Israel, I produced work there during the Intifada and sadly, the work is still relevant. It features a projection of my open mouth screaming STOP!! The word STOP! is etched at the base of my throat as if stuck in the bog of my helplessness and powerlessness.

Entry 1 -Milgrom_STOP

Uncategorized

3 thoughts on “About as good as it gets

  1. Fionq August 25, 2014 / 9:38 am

    What a fabulous time you are having, Lillianne… keep the creative juices flowing and enjoy each and every moment!

    • liliannemilgrom August 25, 2014 / 3:41 pm

      Merci, Fiona!!

  2. Lynn August 26, 2014 / 2:30 pm

    So happy to see that you are enjoying your experience. Rock on, my friend!

I'd love to hear your comments!!

