Artist-in-residence, Dinan

La Vignette
La Vignette

This cute little house – “La Vignette” – is my home in Dinan, France for the month of February. It accommodates the artist-in-residence selected by Les Amis de la Grande Vigne under the auspices of the Yvonne Jean-Haffen Museum. La Vignette is situated at the base of the large property that belonged to celebrated painter Yvonne Jean-Haffen. The late artist bequeathed her home to the city of Dinan in Brittany as a museum, and the little house at its base as a residence for visiting artists. Eleven artists are selected annually and offered the exclusive use of La Vignette for one month. I am this month’s fortunate recipient. 

La Vignette's artist studio
La Vignette’s artist studio

The medieval town of Dinan is beyond picturesque: Ramparts, aqueduct, cobblestoned streets, river port, ancient churches and clock towers, quaint houses….the question is not whether one can find inspiration here but rather, what to select as a focus of one’s work.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

And of course, it doesn’t take very long to figure out what famous food specialty originates in this area….

crepe moi

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Who can resist?
Who can resist?

Between tasting various crêpes (citron, nutella, caramel, sucre, beurre) I have been working on an interesting direction involving portraits of local factory workers. More on that when the work develops further but in the meantime I can’t resist painting a few watercolors of some beautiful architectural details about town.

lock painting

10 thoughts on “Artist-in-residence, Dinan

  1. Judie Weiss February 16, 2015 / 2:21 am

    I loved the latest blog. I felt as though I were taking a trip through Brittany and the art show myself.

  2. Ruth Jacoby February 16, 2015 / 10:00 am

    Oh Lil, it looks and sounds absolutely beautiful…I know you’ll create fabulous work! Enjoy , mon’amie xxxx

  3. Sandi Snyder February 23, 2015 / 12:21 am

    This is the first time I have visited this site. I got here via Artist Lillanne Milgrom of the Microwave Project. I was researching the Director oth the Center for Healing Arts in D. C and just kept following the links.
    This is wonderful for artists and would love to know how do I apply to have a month her. Your work is beautiful and I look forward to following you on this journey.

  4. Carol Maguire June 28, 2015 / 10:03 pm

    Hi Lilianne,
    I am going to Dinan for August……..I’d love to speak with you before I go.
    Carol

  5. barrettmcdevitt October 3, 2015 / 7:24 am

    Hello Lilianne- I am a plein air painter from New Hampshire in the US and I start my residency today (Oct 3). I thought I would say hello! If you have any tips for a fledgling painter in Dinan it would be great to hear from you. Best
    -Barrett

    • liliannemilgrom October 3, 2015 / 2:14 pm

      Hey Barrett –
      How exciting for you! You are about to embark on a wonderful adventure. When I was there, I just got myself into a lovely routine, walking or running along the river every morning, getting supplies or food up that challenging rue Jerzuel, and then just allowing the sights to infuse my senses. The only advice I would have is to try to get a handle on what you want to do or work on as soon as you can. Time just flies and you don’t have time to second guess yourself. I did not go out to eat much but I speak French and so got friendly with some of the committee member ladies – please pass on my very warmest regards. You will find the book there where all the previous residents have left advice and recommendations. I am sure you will get a lot out of that. Bon courage!Let me know how it goes if you have time. Best, Lilianne

      • Barrett McDevitt November 11, 2015 / 6:26 pm

        Hi Lilianne – Thanks so much for your message. The journals were a huge help in getting oriented to life in Dinan. I took your advice to heart as I suspected the time would fly and it did. I did about 25 paintings, four watercolors, 21 oils and was fairly pleased with where I ended up. I experimented a lot, the work was all over the place from tight to loose, but I didn’t worry about it too much as I felt experimentation should be part of what a residency is about. It was a fabulous experience and I’m very glad to be an alumni!
        Thanks much~
        Cheers – Barrett

      • liliannemilgrom November 12, 2015 / 11:51 am

        Sounds like you took full advantage of the residency in the best possible way. Glad you liked the experience as much as I did!

I'd love to hear your comments!!