IT’S A WRAP!

The close of the year comes with the inevitable onslaught of holiday decoration at every turn. Believe me, I have nothing against holiday cheer, but some people’s idea of decorating their winter lawns for the coming Holidays should be banned on the basis of aesthetics alone. Check out the deflated plastic Santa above. Downright sad….!

I am wrapping up several projects (good) and embarking on some new ones (even better). There aren’t enough hours in the day to actually create all the ideas I have filling my head every day. Any artist knows that some works just have that special something that draws attention to it. To note, my recent painting Back View which I featured a few posts ago just returned from being exhibited at the New York Contemporary Art Fair and has now been selected for the rather prestigious show Au Naturel. 50 works were chosen out of 700, so that feels pretty good!

Back View

In art, size really doesn’t matter. It is all in the eye of the beholder. For instance, I am almost done completing a large commissioned painting,  and just found out that I sold another of my miniature figurines at the annual Miniature Painter, Sculptors and Engravers Society (MPSGS) held at the Mansion at Strathmore in Bethesda, MD. The rather stately mansion is an apt backdrop for the many awesome miniatures whose minute details defy  the imagination.

Mansion at Strathmore
Going to a new home

I have always enjoyed putting in my two cents’ worth when helping fellow artists out with their concepts or with the hanging of a new show. Now I get to have the opportunity to jury and curate an exhibtion at MOCA DC Modern and Contemporary Art Gallery in Georgtown, Washington DC. The new venture opens up the gallery’s front lobby to ‘UP.FRONT at MOCA.DC’ featuring my juried fugurative exhibitions. My first Call for Entries is entitled You, Me and Everybody Else. For further details and entry form go to http://www.mocadc.org/pages/upfront.php.

I am also happy to report that I have revisited a large ceramic installation project concerning young veterans and their tattoos. More details as the project starts to take shape but if you know of any recently returned vets who are interested in sharing their tattoos and their stories, please be in touch.

Happy New Year to All, and let’s try to Give Peace a Chance (really)…

I'd love to hear your comments!!

