Artist residency: Auvillar, France

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Old city of Auvillar

Two weeks ago, I had no idea where Auvillar was, but thanks to an unexpected artist residency at VCCA’s Moulin à Nef, here I am, writing this blog post from a spacious studio looking out over a French farmhouse and listening to the crows of a very boisterous rooster. Auvillar is in the southwest of France, about 45 minutes ride from Toulouse. Two facts worth noting –  it is a stop for pilgrims making their way along the St-Jacques de Compostelle trail through the Pyrenees and into Spain, and it also has the honor of being included in the hundred most picturesque villages in France. I can vouch for that – there is a picture worthy scene at every turn.

Auvillar

Although my main goal for this residency is to make a dent in my book, I cannot resist the temptation to create art when surrounded by such beauty. I used origami paper to create these two scenes below.

One of the most important things to expect from a residency is the unexpected. Like today, for instance. I was all set to go out on a walk by the river when I happened upon a beautiful bird. Unfortunately, it was lying at my feet, dead. I immediately scooped it up and ran back to my studio to immortalize it in paint. I used a new technique I have been wanting to try for a while, using the crusty residue of my paper palettes as the foundation for a new painting. I rather like it!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Le pauvre/Poor thing

I hope to be posting one or two more blogs about the residency experience in Auvillar. Comments welcome!

A bientôt!

 

12 thoughts on “Artist residency: Auvillar, France

  1. hagar fletcher October 14, 2017 / 12:02 am

    how lucky are u????
    enjoy for all of us back home!
    miss u love u-hagar

    • liliannemilgrom October 14, 2017 / 9:52 am

      Merci! I’ll be in touch when I get back xx

    • Joni October 14, 2017 / 10:34 am

      Wow! Am so envious! Enjoy enjoy enjoy! It looks beautiful over there!

  2. Lynn October 14, 2017 / 1:15 am

    So happy that you made it there safely. Can’t wait to see what you do and hear all about it. Sending a big ‘ole hug to you!

    • liliannemilgrom October 14, 2017 / 9:53 am

      Hi there! You would have a field day with such beautiful trees here…As you saw, I attacked the local landscape with paper collage…

  3. Lenore new Walsh October 14, 2017 / 3:34 am

    ONLY you. Your imagination and ability continue to amaze me. Keep sharing…..u r my contact to the world. Miss u. coffee???
    Lenore

    • liliannemilgrom October 14, 2017 / 9:53 am

      Merci! Yes, let’s!

  4. Maïa October 14, 2017 / 8:48 am

    Magnifique Lilianne ! Heureuse de te savoir pas loin. Nothing like the unexpected !

    • liliannemilgrom October 14, 2017 / 9:54 am

      Bonjour! Hope all is going well with you. There is a poet here at the residence and makes me think of you!

  5. Elvia M Cribben October 15, 2017 / 4:03 pm

    I wish I was there enjoying those beautiful scenes with you instead of being here trying to survive in Puerto Rico after Maria’s disaster.

    Congratulations .

    Elvia

    • liliannemilgrom October 15, 2017 / 4:49 pm

      Oh Elvia…My heart goes out to you all. I am glad at least that you could connect to internet a little bit and see these beautiful scenes of Auvillar. My prayers are with you.

  6. Cheryl Fortier October 26, 2017 / 1:55 pm

    Très triste! John and I loved watching this little rouge gorge hop around the patio. We miss it but love that you honored it in a painting. Lovely work!

I'd love to hear your comments!!

