It’s summer. Time to play!

Ahhh…summertime. Long, lazy days. Sunshine. Warm wind caressing my skin. I’m finding it hard to buckle down and complete the large painting waiting on my easel. I procrastinate, finding excuses not to enter the studio and feeling guilty about it. That’s when I remember that Art is supposed to be fun – I have been way too goal oriented of late and have forgotten how to play! And what better way to loosen up than trying my hand at collage?

pallette collage I

These small scale narrative collages were initially kickstarted by a newspaper image of a woman holding an interesting gestural pose. I simplified the pose into four shapes that I cut out of discarded disposable palettes from previous paintings.

pallette collage IV

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The discarded paper palettes are like beautiful abstract paintings that often reveal blends of color that I would never be able to purposefully recreate:

pallette collage V

The last phase was to place my figures into narrative interior and exterior landscapes using classical collage techniques mounted on canvas. (I have been using Scotch Photo Mount spray and am very pleased with the results.)

pallette collage II

pallette collage III compressed

I had fun and inadvertently got the creative juices flowing once again. Looking forward to a productive summer!

(Please contact me directly regarding purchase inquiries for these new works and others appearing in past blog posts.)

 

 

9 thoughts on “It’s summer. Time to play!

    • liliannemilgrom June 14, 2016 / 2:07 am

      Thank you! Taking a deep bow…

    • liliannemilgrom June 14, 2016 / 2:46 am

      Most kind of you, Greg!

  1. Jess Adey June 14, 2016 / 2:51 am

    Beautiful and exciting work!

    • liliannemilgrom June 14, 2016 / 3:20 am

      Thank you, Jess. Feedback is so important – lets one know if one is headed in the right direction!

  2. hagar fletcher June 14, 2016 / 4:29 am

    Lilian -i love what u did with all those “left overs” , love your work always.

    • liliannemilgrom June 14, 2016 / 4:22 pm

      Thanks Hagar – You are right about ‘left overs’. I do some of my most creative work with what I find lying about and I know that you work in a similar way. Happy summer!

  3. dianebenjuya June 14, 2016 / 6:04 am

    Lilianne says and proves it, so it IS! Folks: Summer is official open for… our pleasure. Thanks for the colorful and winning declaration, dear Lilianne.

I'd love to hear your comments!!

