Au revoir, Paris

Tour Eiffel

Before saying au revoir to the City of Lights on a stormy summer’s day, I would like to mention three exhibitions that range from the grand to the understated.

blog wordle

1. Impressionist Works from Private Collections

Musée Marmottan Monet, until July 6th, 2014.

To mark the 80th anniversary of its opening to the public, the Musée Marmottan pays homage to fifty private collectors who have amassed a stunning pool of Impressionist works never before exhibited in public. The Impressionists created some of the most popular artwork in the history of art. Exhibited along with the usual suspects – Corot, Boudin, Manet, Monet, Degas, Morisot, Cassatt – I discovered Jongkind and Guillaumin. It was a particular treat to see the esquisse (preliminary sketch) of one of the most iconic Impressionist works – Edouard Manet’s A Bar at the Folies Bergères. See the sketch and the more familiar finished painting below.

Degas

 

Edouard Manet, A Bar at the Folies-Bergère.jpg

For an overview of images from the exhibition here is the French link.

2. Dans l’air mûr: Paintings and Sculptures by Rosy Lamb

Galerie Joseph, Marais district. Closed.

rosy lamb I

By far my favorite gallery show, Rosy Lamb is an artist’s artist. Her world is her studio, her paintings are gloriously painterly and her sculptures translate the immediacy of her hand. Her medium of choice is plaster – she paints with oils on plaster ‘canvases’, and sculpts in plaster. The grouping of sculptural work brings to mind the sculpture courts of the Louvre, but Lamb plays up the fragility of the plaster with an air of insouciance.

rosy lamb III

I feel very fortunate to have caught this show, as US-born, Paris-based Lamb has not exhibited for years and this exhibition was only up for four days. Wonderful little video of the artist at work here.

3. Micro exhibitions by Cirrus.

Streets of Paris, 2014.

I almost walked straight past Cirrus standing modestly on a Paris sidewalk behind what  looked like an architect’s scaled-down model of a small apartment.

cirrus I

These model constructions are actually self-portraits. Cirrus has asked the people in his life to provide him with personal photographs or artworks of their choice. He then makes mini paintings of these collections and curates an imaginary art exhibition on a micro scale. These open-air works represent those closest to the artist and thereby present a slice of his intimate world.

Cirrus II

I was fascinated by this totally unique perspective, and was completely awed by his dedication when I happened to pass by four hours later and saw him patiently explaining his work to other passersby. He can be reached at cirrus.j@free.fr.

Paris revealed its creative soul to me in so many ways. As I take my leave I think about all the wonderful art I was not able to see, but just like the cherries I had to leave behind on my friend’s cherry tree outside of Lyon, I will leave some art for others to discover. One can’t be too greedy…

Visit to lyon Cherry pickin (64) - Copy

2 thoughts on “Au revoir, Paris

  1. Mitch Becker June 25, 2014 / 8:14 am

    Did you get to see the new show of Irving Petlin’s paintings? I believe him to be one of the better painters exhibiting today.

    • liliannemilgrom June 25, 2014 / 12:33 pm

      I am totally unfamiliar with this painter. Thanks for introducing him!

I'd love to hear your comments!!

