The magic of Santa Fe

santa fe (13)

People have been telling me for years that I would love Santa Fe. They told me all about the art, the galleries, the adobe architecture and the artists. But what I wasn’t expecting was the magical landscape, the azure skies and the spiritual feel of the craggy snow-capped mountains and desert scenes.

santa fe (257)

Georgia O’Keeffe (1887-1986) is practically synonymous with the art of New Mexico, but to be honest I find her passionate romantic relationship with photographer Alfred Stieglitz more interesting than her paintings. However, after spending only a few days in New Mexico, I can now understand why she spent most of her adult life there and drew such inspiration from the land. In 1984 she moved to Santa Fe and died there two years later at the age of 98.

Flower of Life II by Georgia O'Keeffe
Flower of Life II by Georgia O’Keeffe

Today, Santa Fe is a major art destination, boasting hundreds of galleries concentrated in a very small city center (I would not recommend it for those of you prone to gallery fatigue). There is a huge range of art offerings for every taste, high brow and low brow.

Within the first hour I had my fill of turquoise, red chili peppers and pueblo pottery knock-offs. Fortunately there were plenty of top notch contemporary galleries and the offerings were extremely eclectic. Here is a sampling from the hundreds of works I saw:

Santa Fe Lil (17)

Santa Fe Lil (24)

Santa Fe Lil (31)

Santa Fe Lil (40)

Santa Fe Lil (52)

Santa Fe Lil (62)

My two favorite galleries were Nüart (they represent one of my favorite artists, Erin Cone) and Chiaroscuro. I discovered a third generation American Indian ceramicist, Rose Simpson, at Chiaroscuro. I was immediately drawn to her contemporary figurative works (below). Both her mother and grandmother were traditional potters, and Ms. Simpson is on the hot artists to watch list.

Santa Fe Lil (45)

Exhausted yet? I certainly was after a full day of gallery hopping! So take a seat, relax and welcome in the New Year, Santa Fe style!

Santa Fe Lil (71)

2 thoughts on “The magic of Santa Fe

  1. becky December 31, 2013 / 2:02 pm

    We just got back from Sanra Fe! What an amazing and magical place! It made me think of you!

  2. Annette Martin December 31, 2013 / 2:45 pm

    You are more beautiful than all of the art. Wishing you and the family a HAPPY NEW YEAR, Hope to see you. Love

I'd love to hear your comments!!

