On a more serious note…

Resistance Through Art images (3)

World War II officially ended on April 29th, 1945. Holocaust Remembrance Day was first inaugurated in Israel in 1956 and is an official day of mourning. Communities around the world mark this day with meaningful ceremonies and events.

In honor of this day which falls on April 7th this year, I was asked to create works about the Holocaust for a group exhibition at the Bodzin Gallery at the Northern Virginia Jewish Community Center entitled Resistance Through Art. I didn’t have far to look for inspiration – my own mother is a Holocaust survivor and my works reflect the effect which her experiences had on my life.

TGN arm for banner

Here is my artist statement about this photographic series:

Shadows

Dedicated to my mother Miriam Unreich née Blumenstock, who lives in Melbourne, Australia.

I don’t remember when I became consciously aware of my mother’s Holocaust experience; it was more like a forbidding presence – often unspoken yet very much a part of my formative psyche. Even before I could truly grasp the horrors which she endured, a sensory transference of sorts was taking hold.

It was only much later in life that I came across the term ‘Second Generation Holocaust Survivor’, and that is when I fully understood the intractable shadow that the Holocaust has cast over future generations.

In this photographic series, my mother’s concentration camp number casts an ominous shadow. It is etched on my soul as surely as if it were tattooed onto my own skin.

Never again.

You can hear Lilianne speak about the works here.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “On a more serious note…

  1. Ruth Jacoby February 18, 2013 / 7:39 am

    They are extremely powerful images and what an honour to be asked to submit your work…quite rightly , never again, but we must make sure our children and their children never forget either!

  2. Joni Rose February 18, 2013 / 2:43 pm

    Wow very powerful.

  3. Annette Martin February 18, 2013 / 3:54 pm

    I think you know that my brother Al was a liberator of Dora Mittlebau, an off shoot of Nordhausen Camp. I will forward your announcement of your work at the NVJCC to Ruth and hopefully she will be able to go. Hope to see you here in he near future.

  4. kestrelart April 29, 2013 / 8:03 pm

    Thank you for this moving post. I wish I could see your exhibition. I offer my respects to your mother.
    Excuse my own reflections written here.
    My father’s family had already migrated from Poland, fleeing pogroms decades earlier, and I was born some years after the camps were liberated, yet the holocaust haunts me. What scares me is, had I lived then, a young man, three quarters gentile so probably safe but feeling threatened, would I have had the moral vision to see the evil and moral courage to oppose it? We should not forget the victims but must remember the perpetrators, also people like us. By chance, today on my ward round we discussed Franz Stangl, Austrian copper and Nazi hunter turned concentration camp commandant. As I remember the story, his journey of corruption grew from fear and, importantly, from the moral authority of doctors and priests who sanctioned the killing of the sick. His wife, a devout catholic, knew … How did she blind herself?
    Lest we forget …

I'd love to hear your comments!!

