R & R comes to a close in Tel Aviv

WHETHER YOU PREFER CHILLING BY THE MEDITERRANEAN…

PRACTICING YOGA IN A RENOVATED BAUHAUS APARTMENT…

 OR DRINKING MINT TEA AND SMOKING HOOKAH IN THE OLD CITY OF JERUSALEM…

ISRAEL HAS IT ALL! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR SOME GREAT R & R.

But don’t just take my word for it – Elle Decor’s latest November issue

has a gorgeous spread on Tel Aviv as the latest “in” destination.

Even though I wanted to take a break from art following my hectic time in Paris, I kept bumping into wonderful street art such as this playful trompe l’oeil mural (below) by the popular and prolific Israeli muralist Rami Meiri.

I am actually leaning against the wall; the ‘bench’ and figures are trompe l’oeil – Meiri’s forte

Some other street art I encountered during my Tel Aviv wanderings:

I came across a performance artist (below) wearing bizarre Icelandic gear on a sweltering hot day in Tel Aviv, “ice fishing” in a drain while chanting a monotonous discordant tune. Go figure!

The cherry on the cake was an unexpected offer to exhibit my new series of mini Parisian portraits at Gabi Benzano’s gallery next year. I also returned home to find out that two of my ceramic figurines were juried into the national show Small Wonders at the MFA Circle Gallery in Maryland. Only 50 works out of almost 700 entries were selected, so I’m pretty happy about that.  More on that later. Until then, Shalom, Salaam, Peace.

2 thoughts on “R & R comes to a close in Tel Aviv

  1. Ruth Jacoby October 23, 2012 / 9:04 am

    loved the photos…we’ll need to employ you as our travel guide when we come to Israel.xxxx

  2. XOXO November 4, 2012 / 10:04 am

    Tel-Aviv got awesome sun! , beaches, Cafe’s, mixure of people, colture & tastes, great shops.. and nice women and men..

I'd love to hear your comments!!

