How much can one person cram into two weeks? Plenty.

Impossible to sum up the incredibly rich, stimulating, creative and exciting time I have been having so far in Paris. So lets just take the last 24 hours as an example. But first just a few photos to set the stage….

OK. So now you get the picture  – no pun intended! Yesterday morning I turned up for ‘work’ at the Musee d’Orsay from 9:30 to 1:00 (I am going to be posting a separate blog detailing a very interesting art project I will be working on during the remainder of my stay. Essentially I have been authorized to be an official copiste at the Musee d’Orsay, hopefully capturing on video some of my painting as a type of performance piece). Following an intense painting session at the museum,a delicious lunch and coffee. I am not a coffee drinker, but the coffee here sure beats Starbucks! Then off to make my first ever prints from the copper engravings I have been working on. Just love the results and the impression the copper plate makes in the paper.

After a quick dinner of goat cheese, baguette, and  radishes I popped over to another artist’s studio to meet her artist’s group for some champagne and dessert. Painters, photographers, sculptors, print-makers.  Back to my own freezing loft to finish off a quick study of a striking looking woman who works at the museum and matches her outfits to her red and black striped hair.

Today I met some friends at the Grand Palais to see one of the most spectacular installations I have ever seen by Christian Boltonski. More coffee and then rush off to attend an opening of an exhibition by artist Gilles Hirzel at the Assemblee Nationale. Very chi-chi – had to be on the ‘list’ to get in. Very powerful works on canvas made from found materials. Don’t sit back yet. As evening settled in I was invited to yet another opening in the very chic Faubourg Saint-Honore. Chanel, Dolce and Gabbana and Dior stores rubbing shoulders with exclusive book stores and galleries and restaurants…Then a taste of Paris commuter traffic as I got a hair-raising ride back home. This weekend, I have an invitation to the unveiling of the next season’s Dior Menswear collection, another gallery opening and a dinner party. So sorry you can’t all join me! And oh yes, I did have to get a beret, didn’t I?

5 thoughts on “How much can one person cram into two weeks? Plenty.

  1. Linda Vroegindewey January 21, 2010 / 11:55 pm

    Sounds like an incredible experience and a pace that’s right up your alley! Get famous, so I can say I knew you when!!

  2. Ruth Jacoby January 22, 2010 / 6:57 am

    O.M.G !!!! You sound like you are having the best time…so wish I could be there but I think you would be loving the being on your own and doing absolutely your OWN THING. ( not very good english I know, but what the heck ) Only just got a message from you so will now keep up with your Paris world xoxo

  3. Alexandra January 22, 2010 / 7:49 am

    Cherie! thank you for the lovely images and inspiring reports, it makes me feel like flying to Paris immediately! Enjoy , enjoy….. Miss you here in cold and foggy Delhi (coldest winter since last ten years) The art scene is thriving and so am I. And yes I too wear a ‘barrette’ over here …bisou Alexandra

  4. Shari Cohen January 22, 2010 / 12:31 pm

    I love living vicariously through you – keep it up – this is fun, thrilling, wonderful – thank you!

  5. Jim Vivian January 6, 2011 / 9:09 pm

    I am jealous of all your travels. Please move back to Israel so I can visit you there again and get lost.

I'd love to hear your comments!!

