Back from Thailand and Australia!

I had never heard of the island of Koh Samui in Thailand, till my best friend’s daughter decided to get married there. And all I can say is I am very pleased she did make Koh Samui her destination of choice. Think deserted beaches, warm winds, Thai massages, fresh coconut and pineapple on the beach, fish grilled in banana leaves, lapping waves, and you might get a brief glimpse into a typical day on the resort. However, I did bring my trusty watercolor pad along and an always surprised at how enjoyable it is to paint small, loose watercolors without overthinking or overplanning the work. I gave a lot of these out to close wedding guests, and was even asked by the manager of the resort if I had more for their gift store. It was so fulfilling to see the genuine joy a little piece of art can bring. Here are three watercolors I brought back with me for my own memories.

Koh Samui beach front

Koh samui resortKoh Samui sun worshipper

After Thailand I was off to Australia to visit with my family in Melbourne. Did not have too much time for the art but did see an incredible Ricky Swallow exhibit and of course saw some pretty incredible street art too (I sort of blend into the picture like a Where’s Waldo puzzle!)

Street art Melbourne

One thought on “Back from Thailand and Australia!

  1. Jeff Wrintel February 7, 2010 / 8:57 pm

    Hey there,
    I love your blog. Google sent me here. I have found so much good imformation here.
    Will surely visit it again.

I'd love to hear your comments!!

